Roasted Red Peppers and Citrus Vinaigrette

Almost two weeks ago, West and I went to Arizona Steakhouse in Columbia for dinner. I don’t think we’d ever been to one even though it’s a chain, but the salad that I ordered there was so. so. so. good. I have been dreaming about it ever since that fateful Saturday and looking for a chance to recreate it.

When I found out my friend Melissa would be coming over for dinner Tuesday, I thought it’d be the perfect opportunity to try and make the salad. But, the salad called for a good bit of prep work, so I started working Monday night (when I should have been studying for an exam, ha).

First, Homemade Roasted Red Peppers
These are really easy to make. Take fresh peppers and grab some oil–just don’t use Olive Oil because apparently it doesn’t smoke as needed.

Coat the peppers with some oil using your hands, place on a baking pan and stick under your preheated broiler. Keep an eye on them, and when they start to blacken, take them out, turn them over and replace in the oven. Continue the process until all sides are somewhat blackened.

Then, immediately place them in a covered plastic container and let them cook in their own steam for 20 minutes. Once they have cooled, peel their skin off, remove tops and seeds and slice accordingly. To keep fresh, douse some evoo on top, close container and keep refrigerated.

Citrus Vinaigrette
I looked up a few recipes on the Internet and then made up my own version. I grabbed the following ingredients:

I used
-1 C. EVOO
-1/3 C. Sugar
-Half a Lime
-Half a Clementine
-Half a Lemon
-1 1/2 T. Grey Poupon
-3 T. Red Wine Vinegar
-3 T. Water
-2 Garlic Cloves Minced
-Salt and Pepper to Taste
(Add a few T of Cilantro after things have been mixed)

I needed a way to mix my vinaigrette, and my soulmate so sweetly agreed to let me use her BRAND NEW food processor!

I made myself start studying after I finished making this–so the end of food creations for Monday!

4 thoughts on “Roasted Red Peppers and Citrus Vinaigrette

  1. Fun blog! I’ll be interested to try some of your creations at home. Also, your blog makes me think you will like goop.com. Sign up for the newsletter! Gwyneth Paltrow often gives wonderful and healthy recipes in the ‘Make’ section!

Leave a Reply

