Southwest Roasted Corn Soup

I probably shouldn’t start a food post like this, but I’ve decided that even if my adventures don’t end in a success, I’m still going to share them!

While we were in Disney World, I kept thinking of new recipes and dishes I wanted to try when I got home. I kept coming back to the idea of making a soup because I haven’t tried to make a new one in a few years (my mom has a great potato soup that I make often in the cooler months). Since it’s not winter, I wanted to prepare something that was lighter and more summer-y. And I thought of….

Roasted Corn Soup! yummm. A year or two ago, Panera had this delicious Southwest Corn Chowder, and I decided I wanted to try to recreate it. Like usual, I did some research, and ended up relying on this recipe and this one. I wanted the creaminess of milk, but I also wanted some heat, which is why I combined the two.

First, you’ve got to roast the corn in the oven. So I used just over 1 lb of frozen corn, spread it out on a pan and drizzled some EVOO over it. Once the 400 degree oven has been preheated, the corn goes in for about 15 minutes and just needs to be stirred halfway through the cooking time.

While the corn was roasting, I cut up my other veggies.

1/2 sweet onion
3/4 green pepper
1 jalapeno
2 cloves of garlic
2 small carrots

The recipe also called for 4 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups of milk. I decided to add around 10 dashes of the Chipotle Tabasco sauce, too. I started the onions in some EVOO and then added the other veggies and the corn and let everything cook for another 10 minutes over medium heat before adding the liquids.

Once the broth went in, I brought the mixture to a boil and then turned down the heat to let the soup simmer for 20 minutes. I also added salt, pepper and a pinch of red pepper and cumin. (Apparently, I got really into making the soup and forgot to take anymore pictures…opps!) After the soup was done simmering, I added the milk and transferred it (cup by cup) to the blender and blended it (in several batches) until it reached my desired consistency.

Topped with a little cheese, it was enjoyed alongside a simple greens salad and a balsamic vinaigrette.

Alright, now, it was a little too spicy, and it didn’t have the sweetness that I love so much in corn soups. So, I’d like to try it again, and next time, I’ll make sure I use sweet baby corn, only half a jalapeno and I may substitute some of my roasted red peppers for the green peppers. Regardless of this partial fail, we cleaned our bowls…

If anyone has ever made a corn soup before, I’d love to hear your thoughts on my attempt and on what I could do to improve it!

2 thoughts on “Southwest Roasted Corn Soup

  1. Hey Faith! Great blog! I love corn soup, and I’m impressed at your attempt. Maybe you can use pickled jalapenos next time. Do you remember that office gathering where I brought in the corn dip? I used pickled jalapenos, and I think might help with the flavor you want.

    I hope you’re doing well!!

    -Kalyn

  2. Thank you! I feel like I must not have been at that office gathering 😦 But that is an excellent suggestion. Pickled jalapenos may provide the flavor I’m use to. I’ll try it again, and let you know!

    We miss you in the states!

Leave a Reply

