Memorial Day Splurge

Like most Americans, West and I decided to celebrate Memorial Day by grilling out. We did face a few obstacles, though. First, we’d never used a charcoal grill before…

And there was the problem of the rain…

But, we looked at our hour-by-hour forecast and decided we had a small window of time between 5:30pm and 7:00pm. Our menu consisted of NY Strip Steaks with Parsley and Garlic Butter, Parmesan Cauliflower Mash and Asparagus with Hollandaise. Did your heart just stop from reading that list? I know. I felt my arteries closing while I ate, but everything was SO good. Since the butter needed to chill, West mixed it together after he started the coals.

You just need 1/8 C of unsalted butter, half of a pressed garlic clove, a squeeze of lemon and a T of Parsley.

I started the Cauliflower Mash first because I knew I could always leave it in the oven for longer if the grill was taking awhile to heat up. I just chopped a head of cauliflower and tossed it into a pot of water. Then, I shredded 1/4 C of cheddar cheese and 1/2 C of Parmesan and set aside 1/4 C of cream and a T of salted butter. I also added the other half of the garlic clove and salt and pepper.

Once the cauliflower had cooked to the point of tenderness, I drained the water and added all my ingredients (except for 1/4 C of Parmesan to sprinkle on top) and mashed everything together. Once everything is combined, the mixture looks a little too loose, so I always bake my mash in a casserole dish for 15-20 minutes, and then turn on the broiler to brown the top right before I take it out.

As I mentioned, West and I had never grilled with charcoal before or grilled steaks. So we both did some research, and I found this site to be most helpful. When the steaks had been sitting out for about 40 minutes and the grill was hot, we sprinkled the steaks liberally with salt and pepper and threw them on the grill.

While the steaks were grilling, I threw some asparagus in a pan with EVOO and seasoned it with salt and pepper after it had been cooking for a few minutes. Then, I started the HOLLANDAISE SAUCE. This stuff is like liquid gold heaven. I followed this recipe to a T because I wanted my first attempt to be a success! I did cut the amounts in half since I just needed enough to cover my asparagus.

And the end result was…

Everything was extremely delicious, rich and full of flavor. I learned alot about grilling through this meal (and from watching the Memorial Day marathon of Grill It!), and it’s actually not as intimidating as I thought it was.

We destroyed the kitchen, but I’ve got a good man-he washed the dishes 🙂

Leave a Reply

