Goat Cheese and Chocolate Truffles

I made a dinner date with Melissa, but she decided she wanted to treat ME to dinner. I still wanted to contribute, though, so she said I could bring dessert. I wasn’t that excited. I love eating sweets, but I don’t love making them. I’d much rather try my hand at preparing a four course meal than creating a few dozen delicious cupcakes. But, anyway, I decided to look for chocolate+goat cheese combination because I am sorta obsessed with goat cheese lately. AND I found one on Epicurious.com (i love you, epicurious.)

I needed to go to Whole Foods to get a few supplies, and I ran by the cheese section to get some fresh goat cheese.

Do you guys remember the last time I went to Whole Foods for goat cheese? Yeah, I got it FREE. Well, this time, I was asking the cheese expert on duty his opinion on which one I should try, when he showed me a local cheese that had just under the amount I needed for my recipe. It was the only one left in the basket, so I asked him if he had anymore because I would just buy another tube–but as I was saying this he handed me some and said, “This is still good (sell date bad by tomorrow), but if you want it, I’ll give it to you free.” Whaaaat. More free cheese? I serious felt bad. Like I was cheating Whole Foods. But, yeah, I took it. 🙂

When I got home, I got all my ingredients together.

I took out a little more than six ounces of chocolate and starting melting it over my makeshift double broiler.

Once it had completely softened into a gorgeous, brown lake, I started working on the other part of the truffle: the goat cheese. You have to leave the cheese set out for awhile so it becomes room tempature. Then, mix it with 2 1/2 T of powdered sugar, 1/2 t of vanilla extract and 1/8 t of lemon extract. You’re suppose to whisk the combination together until it is “light and fluffy,” but mine never really became “light a fluffy.” I went with it anyway.

Then, I began to slowly whisk in my melted chocolate, which had been cooling just a bit on the stove.

After mixing it together, I covered the bowl and stuck it in the fridge for just over an hour. Once the batter was firm(er), I took it out and started rolling it into balls and then rolled it through some coco powder and powered sugar.

While this presentation looks just fine, I wanted something with a little more pizazz. So after letting the truffles rest in the fridge for another hour, I dipped their tops in melted chocolate and topped them with a sliced almond.

These are the MOST delicious dessert I have ever made. You may be thinking, “Goat cheese? Gross.” I understand. (Actually, I don’t.) But you will not regret making or trying these if you can complete the recipe correctly (which, by the way, is a piece of cake!).

The saga of the Whole Foods cheese department continues…I took some of truffles by as a thank you, but neither of the guys who had helped me were there. I ended up explaining to the guy who was working my situation, and he thought it was awesome I’d brought them in-he said he’d make sure they got them. But, then he asked me if I wanted to leave my name or number. I laughed nervously and offered an awkward no. Then, of course, Anna said, “Her name is Faith!” which made the guy start talking about how the shorter cheese guy might be giving me a call. . . So, now, one of the guys in the cheese dept thinks I have a crush on him, that I made him truffles and that I wanted him to know my name. I don’t know if I will be able to show my face there for awhile…so much for giving back.

4 thoughts on “Goat Cheese and Chocolate Truffles

  1. Until I read the last paragraph, I was going to comment and say, “the cheese guys have a crush on you.” Now, instead, you have a crush on the goat cheese man. Hilarious. Heehee.

  2. Attention all foodies! These lil goat cheese truffs were nothing short of delicious, and I don’t even care that much about goat cheese. However, Ethan would note otherwise.

Leave a Reply

