Mustard Greens and Lentils

Ever since vacation, I think I have been in splurge mode. My body’s “regularity” (if you know what I mean) just hasn’t been normal in almost a month! So I knew it was time to start incorporating some heavy greenery in the diet.

I have actually never made (or maybe even had?) mustard greens and decided that now would be a great time try them out. I found a recipe that seemed to be pretty basic, so I went with it.

* 1/2 C sliced onions
* 2 cloves garlic, minced
* 1 T EVOO
* 1 lb mustard greens, washed and torn into large pieces
* 3 T chicken broth
* 1/4 teaspoon dark sesame oil
* Salt and pepper

You just start the onions in the EVOO over medium heat, and after about six minutes, throw the garlic in for just one minute (I recently learned that leaving the garlic in longer means it will probably burn and leave a less than pleasant taste in your mouth). Then, toss the greens and broth in the pan.

I’m always amazed at how much greens cook down-these are spilling over! Once the greens wilt, add the sesame oil and salt and pepper.

Done! Before I started the mustard greens, I put some lentils on-another thing I’ve never made from scratch.

I followed the package directions as far as cooking time and did my own seasoning. I started some onions in EVOO (can you tell this is my favorite way to start any and all recipes?), and then added 2/3 C of chicken brother and 1/3 C of water, brought it to a boil and put in 2/3 C of lentils. Lower the heat to a simmer and cover it for about 20-30 minutes. My lentils took longer to cook, but I think that was because the lid on my pot didn’t fit properly.

I made sure to season my lentils liberally with salt and pepper AFTER they finished cooking since salt tends to toughen lentils if added during cooking. Because I was cooking for me and West, I knew I needed to have a standby starch, so we had baked potatoes, as well. Yum.

Lentils-delicious, and I will definitely make them this way again.

Mustard Greens-We both thought the sesame oil was a bit overpowering, so I think I will try these greens again soon but with different ingredients-any ideas?

2 thoughts on “Mustard Greens and Lentils

Leave a Reply

