Homemade Hummus and Pesto

Eek! I am getting behind again. My summer school class started on Monday, and I’ve been in a reading frenzy (my mind is full of postmodern Gothic feminism) to catch up with my over zealous classmates who posted their discussion answers a WEEK before they are due. Overachievers who apparently do not work full time.

Back to happier thoughts. This weekend West and I had an idea to grill pizzas (during the Memorial Day Marathon of Grill It!, we witnessed Bobby Flay doing this). We needed to do some prep work, though. For my pizza, I followed the instructions here for a type of Mediterranean Pizza, which called for hummus.

Homemade Spicy Hummus

You just need:

* 1 1/2 cups cooked chickpeas
* 3 cloves roasted garlic
* 1 t cayenne pepper
* 1 T lemon juice
* 1 T real maple syrup
* 1 1/2 T tahini
* 1/4 C EVOO
* Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Put all the items(cept EVOO) into your processor, blend until the chickpeas start to turn to mash and then slowly add in EVOO. I ended up needing a bit more EVOO, and I think a good dash of salt is necessary for this recipe.

Happy hummus 🙂 Do you like my new food processor? After not having a blender or processor for more than a year, I finally broke down and bought this cute little guy. AND I convinced my roommate to buy us a blender. It’s appliance Christmas at my apt right now.

Homemade Cilantro Parsley Pesto

West knew he didn’t want my pizza (goat cheese and grilled eggplant aren’t his fav), but he told me I could pick his alternative. So I chose this recipe for a yummy Shrimp and Cilantro Pesto Pizza.

I was really excited to make the pesto, and I think pesto is almost fool proof-so simple and yet so delicious. So we gathered our ingredients (by the way, why in the world are pine nuts so expensive?) together to throw in the processor.

* 3/4 C fresh cilantro leaves
* 1/4 C fresh parsley leaves
* 2 garlic cloves, coarsely chopped
* 2 T pine nuts
* 1/4 C grated Parmesan
* 1/2 C olive oil
* Salt and freshly ground black pepper

I love the contrast of the green and red…it really is like Christmas!

When the oil and herbs start to bond together, you know you’re good to go.

Obviously, like the hummus, this was way more pesto than we needed for our recipe for one small pizza. But we used the leftovers up in no time. I’ll share them later when I have more time. But check in again soon to see our homemade dough and the finished product, which was soooo good. 🙂

One thought on “Homemade Hummus and Pesto

  1. Pingback: Squash and Asparagus with Pesto Pasta « Happy Life with Food

Leave a Reply

