Grilled P-I-Z-Z-A

Random Fact: When my younger sister was little, she use to watch these MaryKate and Ashely Olsen (when they were still cute phase) videos over and over again. On one of them, they would sing, “I want Pizza. P-I-Z-Z-A. Give me Pizza. P-I-Z-Z-A” over and over again. I still hear it almost every time I type the word pizza.

We made our own dough, and it was delicious.

* 2/3 C lukewarm water (don’t want to kill the yeast!)
* 1 packet of active dry yeast
* 1/2 t sugar
* 2 T EVOO
* 1 3/4 Cs all-purpose unbleached flour
* 1/4 C finely ground yellow cornmeal
* 2 t coarse salt

Once all your ingredients are together, stir 1/3 C water, yeast and the sugar together and let it stand for 7-10 minutes until gets nice and foamy.

Then, stir in the remaining water, EVOO, flour, cornmeal and salt, and blend until the mixture forms a dough. Place the dough on a floured surface and knead away!

I started the kneading, but it’s hard work. So West took over, and after about 7 minutes, it was ready to be rolled into a ball, placed in a EVOO coated bowl, covered and left to rise for about one hour.

While we waited on our dough to double in size, West grilled my veggies and his shrimp!

I didn’t get pictures of West rolling out our dough, but the trick is to brush your crust with EVOO and sprinkle it with salt and pepper right before the grill. We also learned that it was necessary for the crust to go over the hottest part of the grill. Otherwise, the dough will start to fall into the grill (this happened to mine). Once the dough was almost done cooking (ab 2 minutes per side), we put our toppings on.

My P-I-Z-Z-A: Hummus, eggplant, zucchini, green onions, red peppers and a sprinkle of goat cheese.
West’s:Pesto, white and sharp cheddar cheeses and shrimp.

We stuck them back on the grill to melt our cheese, and then enjoyed!

One thought on “Grilled P-I-Z-Z-A

Leave a Reply

