Birthday Dinner

Finally! The post I have been looking forward to writing for almost a week. As you can probably tell if you know me, I try to stay a few days ahead on my blog. For some reason, this makes me less stressed ab keeping up with things day-to-day 🙂

The Saturday after the Braves game, West and I were supposed to have dinner at Ruth’s Chris. We’d been wanting to go since Valentine’s Day, but it just didn’t work out. So I made reservations ahead of time and intended to surprise West. But at the last moment, I decided we should eat somewhere local. (Sometimes, I am kinda crazy like this.)

For a smaller town, Greenville actually has tons of nice restaurants to chose from. My roommate recently ate at Nantucket, a new one downtown, and really enjoyed it, so I decided we should give it a try.

I made West wear a bow tie b/c I didn’t want him to feel over dressed, but when we were seated, we realized that he was the nicest dressed man in room. He said he was okay with that. ha.

We started out with a crab cake, which I didn’t take a picture of. It was delicious. We inhaled it. Then, we got our main courses with side dishes.

I order the Blackened Panamanian Wahoo with caramelized onions and blue cheese butter. Oh.My.Gah. It was seriously the best fish I have had in YEARS and the best meal I’ve had in a long time.

West ordered the Surf n’ Turf. The steak was delicious, but we both agreed that he could have gone without the shrimp. Also, he was so embarrassed that I had to use my flash to take the pictures, which was pretty funny to me.

At Nantucket Seafood Grill, they offer various sides served “family style,” so West and I chose two to share.

These are the Nantucket Hashbrowns. They had some type of Tabasco seasoning inside and were topped with bacon and caramelized onions. I only ordered these b/c I had read in a review that they were really tasty, and while they were good, it was just too much food for us to consume. We wished that we had only gotten one side. But our second side . . .

was Crispy Broccoli Florets in a Thai sauce, and it was outta this world. If you go here, you MUST order this dish. So yummy.

Even though we were both already about to pop, we couldn’t leave a birthday dinner without desert! So we ordered two Espressos and shared the Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee, which was divine.

I may or may not have eaten the majority of this… 🙂

Once we got in the car, I had to unzip my dress on the side b/c I ate so much that I could barely breathe! Pathetic, I know but so worth it. We decided to catch a late night showing of . . .

Toy Story 3-just as good as the first two! We loved it.

Us all 3-D and ready to go.

We had such a good time. It’s so nice to have special treats like this every once in awhile. I know we’re definitely looking for another reason to go out again soon.

One thought on “Birthday Dinner

  1. Mmmmm….that vanilla creme brulee looks divine! It’s totally one of my favorite desserts! I’ll have to tell my parents to eat there sometime!

Leave a Reply

