Hummus Duo

I needed to perfect my roasted red pepper hummus because the last time I made it the garlic was overpowering and it tasted a bit too oily. So I decided to roast my garlic first. It’s super easy, and all you need is some EVOO and garlic.

Start out by peeling the outside layers off-but not so much that the garlic falls apart. Then, cut off the top of the cloves so that they are exposed and rub a little EVOO all over them. Place them on some tinfoil for easy clean-up!

Pop it in the oven at 400.

I thought it was cute to shape my foil into a garlic bulb. Dorky, I know. But after about 30 minutes, just pull the pan out and let the garlic cool until you can unwrap the foil and just squeeze the cloves out of their cute little holes.

Store it in a little EVOO if you don’t plan on using/serving it all at once. Once the garlic was done, I could start my new hummus attempt.


Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

Ingredients

* 1/2 can garbanzo beans, drained (reserve some of the water to substitute any needed oil for smoothness)
* 3 strips of your homemade roasted red pepper
* 2 T fresh lemon juice
* 1 1/2 T tahini
* 2 roasted garlic cloves, chopped
* 1/4 t ground cumin
* 1/4 t cayenne pepper
* 1/4 t salt
* 1 T chopped fresh parsley

Throw it all into the food processor and out comes a miracle!

For my second try, this was tons better than my first. Garlic wasn’t overpowering and the omission of oil was definitely a great idea. As always, I’d still like to improve it more. I’m in love with Sabra, and I want to create hummus equally as delicious as they do.

Next up was Cilantro Jalapeno Hummus

I started by roasting my jalapeno, but roasting with the seeds was a bad idea. I added more heat than I though it would. So, as a side note, I’d do this part differently next time.

Other ingredients

* 1/2 can garbanzo beans, drained
* 2 T fresh lemon juice (a squeeze of lime, too!)
* 1 1/2 T tahini
* 2 roasted garlic cloves, chopped
* 1/4 C EVOO
* 1/4 t salt
* 3 T cilantro, chopped

Throw the chickpeas and jalapeno in the processor until it starts to turn into a paste. Then, add the following

and blend until smooth!

As I mentioned earlier, the heat kinda killed this for me. The flavors were right, but it was just too hot. I’ve got to learn how to use peppers without burning my mouth out.

2 thoughts on “Hummus Duo

  1. I’m still slightly dissapointed that I know you, but I like your blog. I might have to try some of your recipes. Do you get them from anywhere or do you just make them up??

    • Haha. I am so sorry to disappoint you 😦 And if I use a specific recipe, I’ll usually link it somewhere in my post. Sometimes, I look up lots of recipes for the same dish/food and then make up my own. So a mix of both?

Leave a Reply

