A Stellar Date Night

So, lately, West and I have really been into trying new places that we have never been before, and so far, we’ve had some delicious experiences. Stellar Restaurant & Wine Bar was no exception. My roommate Laura had been to Stellar twice and couldn’t stop talking about how delicious it was, so we decided it was time to give it a try.

Stellar Restaurant & Wine Bar is located on Main Street in downtown Greenville, SC. It’s actually occupying the space where O CHA tea bar used to be when I was in college, so it’s interesting to see how they have transformed the place.

Source

As far as atmosphere, West and I both agreed that it was over decorated. I should have taken more pictures, but imagine a really triptonic, milky-way painting on the ceiling. 😉 However, we did have high standards for this place since we went to Cork Wine Bar in DC this past January, and it blew our minds.

First, I need to tell you that our waiter was EXTREMELY awkward/slow. I think he may have indulged in a little green before work? We watched other servers, though, and they seemed really personable/knowledgeable. We must have just got the dud!

After a misunderstanding between “tasting portion” and just a “taste,” we both decided on our wines.

I think I ordered a Pinot, and West got a Merlot. I usually like Chardonnay, but this Pinot was delicioussss. I made it last until desert!

I asked West to pick our starter, and he chose the Feature Fondue, which was an Asiago cheese.

It was served with bread, veggies and apple slices!

The main courses were small (like tapas), so we both picked one we wanted to try and then we split them.

I ordered the Portobello Wrapped Scallops that were served with a cauliflower puree, Parmigiano crisps and lemon brown butter. The boy got Beef Scallopine with Chimichurri Sauce that was served with ratatouille.

A better view of my pick…

These were so good that I honestly cannot adequately describe how absolutely flavorful and succulent they were. I have to go back to get these if nothing else. If you go, I HIGHLY recommend getting this.

We were pretty stuffed, but we decided to get dessert anyway because I can’t end a meal without something sweet. However, we assumed that the desserts would be small like the entrees, so we got two. They were not small. Did we eat almost all of it anyway? Why yes we did.

I had to try the Chocolate Grand Marnier Souffle with Espresso Gelato.

West wanted the Tiramisu-our standby favorite.

Mmmm. We were stuffed to the top!

While this was a great date night, I think places like Stellar are even more fun when you go with a group, get several different items and just share them all! Either way, though, you’ll enjoy it for sure. I just hope you get a better waiter…haha.

Summer school is over! Hooray! I’m planning on doing some more baking/cooking this week, so look for new food updates (finally).

Leave a Reply

