Mexican Baking Week

I wasn’t really thinking that I would have a theme to my creations this week, but I’ve already had Mexican once, planning on having at least one more time and I’ve been in a baking frenzy for about 4 hours. Don’t worry, I’m not going to overload you with photos and stories as I did yesterday. We’ll keep to one thing at a time.

Roasted Corn Quesadillas

I went to West’s parents house this weekend and had a great time catching up on working, hanging out with the fam and eating good food. On Saturday, Lisa and I did a Mexican Night! She had seen this recipe on Food Network, and we both agreed it sounded sooo yummy and worth a try.

While Lisa browned the meat for the taco salads, I started roasting us a red pepper.

We didn’t follow the amounts or exact ingredients to a T, but here is what we did use:

* corn on the cob
* can of black beans
* 1 jalapeno
* 1/2 onion
* 1/2 vine ripe tomato
* 1 small roasted red pepper
* dash of salt & pepper
* 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
* 5 tablespoons freshly chopped cilantro leaves, divided
* Cheddar, shredded
* 8 medium flour tortillas

Once she finished up the meat, we threw the corn in the pan to roast on the stovetop and chopped up our other ingredients.

Then we removed the corn and put the EVOO, onion, black beans and jalapeno in the pan until the onions began to soften. After that we could add the tomato, roasted red pepper and the corn for a few more minutes.

Right before you take it off the heat, add 3/4 of the cilantro, the cumin and S&P. Before you know it, it’s time to assemble these bad boys.

Just set four tortillas out and top them with your quesadilla filling and a sprinkle of cilantro and cheese.

Then just cover them with another tortilla and stick them in the oven at 375 until the cheese starts to melt. When they come out, you can slice them with a pizza cutter into four equal pieces.

Add a squeeze of lime and a dollop of sour cream, and ah. perfection.

These were really good, but do you know what I thought was almost better? The simple taco salad we had on the side. It’s been along time since I’ve had “taco beef,” and whoa was it good. I really am a meat eater. Are you proud of me dad?

Did you happen to notice that my pictures look better today? Well, that’s because my super sweet boyfriend is letting me borrow his SLR for awhile. 🙂 Okay, I’m sick, and I am hosting a little MEXICAN dinner party tomorrow, so I should go to bed.

Goodnight, World!

Leave a Reply

