Peaches & Beets

I have three precious weeks until school starts for the fall, and I want to spend them baking, cooking and eating! As I have mentioned before, I’m not a huge baker, but I felt up to the challenge with all this free time.

Anna mentioned making a Peach Cobbler since those juicy little orbs are in season, and I had a cobbler mix that I needed to use: perfect.

I still wanted to make something else, though. Something I hadn’t attempted before. You may remember that I have a slight obsession with goat cheese and chocolate, which is what led me to the creation of Chocolate & Beet Cupcakes with Goat Cheese Icing.

I hadn’t really purchased groceries since moving into my new apt, so I headed to the store with Anna to stock up. And can I just remind you how nice the people are at Whole Foods? I wanted to purchase a basil plant, but they didn’t have anymore. When I asked a girl in produce about the plants, she said she would take my name and number and have them call me if they got any more in, and then she gave me some fresh basil for free!!

Also, this goat cheese is the bomb.

When we got home, I was trying to put my recycling bin back in our closet and I knocked over three wine glasses on a nearby self. disaster.

Ugh. I hate when you have projects waiting on you and stuff like this happens. But after running the roomba over the area about 20 times, we were ready to start baking.


Mini Peach Cobblers

This is going to be a poor recipe because I can’t tell you what exactly to use for the cobbler mix since it was pre-made. But I’ll share the pictures anyway!

Anna sliced up 4.5 peaches, and we sprinkled 1/2 C of sugar and 1/2 C of water over them and then stuck them in the microwave to let them soften up.

Then we got out the “Magic” mix. I received this as a gift last summer when I had to resign from my nanny job for school. To start the magic, we needed a WHOLE stick of butter and 1/2 C of milk (we used soy b/c that is what I had).

Once the butter melted, we added the mix with the milk and stirred until smooth. While Anna stirred away, I dropped about three slices of peaches into each cupcake slot.

Then we poured the magic mix in, and put them in the oven at 375 for about 40 minutes. If you’re wondering what’s so magic about this mix, it’s the fact that it rises above the peaches when you cook it!

My baking partner said we should top them with fresh slices.

Ta-da! Very yummy.

Chocolate Beet Cupcakes with Goat Cheese Icing

On to the next! So I came across this recipe while I searched for “chocolate and goat cheese cupcakes.” One of the results that popped up was from a blog called Pro Bono Baker. Uh, totally cute. I used her recipe, but I did make a few changes (some intentional, some not. ha).

First on the list was roast the beets! I’ve actually NEVER cooked beets before, so it was nice to work with a new ingredient. Anna sliced three, and then we placed them on a pan in the oven set at 400 until they started to get soft.

Beets are so colorful, but they stain!

I think the traditional way to roast beets is whole, but we wanted to save time. After we let the beets cool, they were tossed into my little food processor and chopped into little tiny pieces. They are suppose to be pureed, but small pieces was the best we could do.

We threw the little chunks into the wet mixture:

* 1/2 C butter
* 1 C sugar
* 1/4 C soy milk

Alright, so in the original recipe, you would add 1/4 C of brown sugar, 2 eggs and use real milk. I didn’t have brown sugar or real milk, but I COMPLETELY FORGOT about the EGGS!! Actually, I didn’t even remember them until the NEXT morning at work when I was giving a coworker one of the cupcakes.

But you know what? They were totally delicious without the eggs. So maybe you shouldn’t add them either. 😉

As we absentmindedly (obviously) creamed our wet ingredients together, everything turned a lovely shade of purple.

Then it was time to assemble the dry ingredients:

* C flour
* C unsweetened cocoa powder
* 1 t baking powder

Added:

* 1/8 C semi-sweet chocolate chips

After mixing the two together, we filled each cupcake compartment 2/3 full and put them in the oven at 350 for about 20 minutes. While we waited for the cupcakes to bake, we made the icing.

* 5 oz room temperature goat cheese

* 3 oz cream cheese, at room temperature

* 1/2 C powdered sugar

* 1/4 C pure maple syrup

You cream the cheeses together, then add the powdered sugar and finally the maple syrup.

The result is honestly “bottle it” worthy. SO delicious. Not lying. If you like goat cheese, you will LOVE this. (Laura G, we need to make this together!)

We stuck the icing in the fridge and pulled the cupcakes out to cool.

These were taste tested by about 9 people, ranging in ages of 5 to 25, with a general consensus of absolutely de-lec-table. We did have a few “Good, but rich,” so maybe these should be served with a lighter meal or just an afternoon snack!

Stay tuned for mexican dinner part pics! 🙂

One thought on “Peaches & Beets

  1. Pingback: Mexican Dinner Party « Happy Life with Food

Leave a Reply

