Into the Mountains

This weekend I went home! I haven’t been home in almost two months, and it felt so good to wind through those country roads.

My parents run a children’s summer camp in the foothills of NC, and this weekend they were taking the camp staff up to Shatley Springs for dinner, and they let me come with them!

We went up past Boone and almost as far as Virginia(!) before we got to Shatley Springs. When we got there at 4:30, it was already packed!

They provide live entertainment and rocking chairs to help pass the time while you wait to eat.

Once we were seated, they waitress took our drink order and then started bringing food–they serve family style!

Green beans and mashed potatoes.

Fried chicken and country ham. (I realize that if you’re a vegetarian or vegan, you’re probably really grossed out by this display of meat. Sorry! But it was delicious.)

Gravy and creamed corn.

All I can say is yum.

I could feel the butter and grease seep from each bite into every taste bud. Gained a realistic two pounds from eating this meal, and I’m okay with it.

The big table:

They tempted us with all types of cobbler like strawberry…

But I chose blackberry!

After dinner, we walked around outside to let our stomachs settle before the ride home.

Sooooo pretty. Here’s my cute little sister 🙂

Can you tell we’re related?

I know I’m biased, but this area has some of the most beautiful landscapes in the world.

Can’t wait to go home again!

2 thoughts on “Into the Mountains

Leave a Reply

