Making Good on Some Promises

A certain cute little pixie once said she would probably die if I baked something and sent it to her. I don’t want her keel over, but I did promise her I’d send her something!

Apparently, I’m really into mixing veggies with sweets because I decided to make chocolate zucchini bread. Most of the recipes that I saw were very similar. I made a few substitutions for what I had on hand and to make it a wee bit healthier.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread

I started by grating one zucchini up to get two cups for my recipe!

And then because everything I read said “grease pans well. bread will stick,” I took a pat of butter and greased up my pans.

I used the little ones for gift loaves since I knew they would probably turn out prettiest! Afterward, I got my wet (and okay to be wet) ingredients together:

* 1 T butter
* 5 T cocoa power
* 3 eggs
* 1 1/4 C sugar
* 1/2 C vegetable oil
* 2 C grated zucchini
* 1/2 C apple sauce

Most recipes wanted you to melt some bittersweet chocolate for the batter, but because I didn’t have any of that, I decided to use some cocoa powder and butter.

I also cut down the sugar, and since they called for a FULL cup of oil, I substituted 1/2 C of oil with applesauce! mmmm.

Then you toss it all in together and beat it until it’s well mixed. Once you’re finished with that, just grab the dry ingredients.

* 2 C flour
* 1 t baking soda
* 1 t cinnamon
* 1 dash of nutmeg
* 3/4 C semisweet chocolate chips

After stirring the dry stuff around, add it to the wet mixture and keep stirring until well you don’t see any more flour spots. Then you’re ready to pour it into its cute little pans.

You’ll notice that I put the smaller pans on a baking pan because those things are absolute beasts to try to get out individually. I burned myself once and learned the lesson quick!

Stick them in a preheated 350 degree oven.

The small ones took about 25 minutes, and the larger one took about 40 minutes. 🙂

mmm. I let them cool for about 30 minutes before attempting to take them outta their little homes. While I waited, I cut a warm slice off the big one and topped it with peanut butter.

I had to make sure it tasted good enough to give to somebody else…

…and boy did it! The peanut butter tasted soooo good on that little sliver, so it was time to package it up!

Those little babies went all the way to Charleston with a little note to keep them company:

(See the kitties reference? That’s why we like each other-we’re cat people!)

Kristen, I hope you didn’t die! And I hope it was still delicious when it reached your NEW house!

4 thoughts on “Making Good on Some Promises

  1. my mum makes this alot.
    also banana bread, carrot bread… she thinks she’s an italian now…
    shhh don’t tell anyone.

  2. Pingback: Regular Evening « Happy Life with Food

Leave a Reply

