Borrowed Banana Bread

Before my senior year of college, I scored an internship with a publishing company in Nashville, but I didn’t have a place to live. That is until a super sweet family (who I had never met before) offered to let me live with them for the duration of the internship.

The mom was pretty talented in the kitchen, and she made the most delicious banana muffins. We’re talking the best I have ever had in my entire life. She was nice enough to share the recipe with me before I had to head home. 🙂

Banana Muffins (and Bread)

When Kelly saw that I sent someone in her area code treats, she hinted that she would really love a post surprise, as well.

Started by grabbing the necessary ingredients:

* 1 stick butter
* 1 1/2 C sugar
* 2 eggs
* 2 mashed bananas
* 2 C flour
* 1/2 pint sour cream
* 2 C flour
* 1 t baking soda
* 1 t baking powder
* 1 t vanilla
* sprinkle of cinnamon and sugar for top!

First, I creamed the butter, sugar and eggs together.

Then, readied the bananas by mashing them into a big ol’ pile of mush.

I threw everything else into my creamed ingredients and turned the hand mixer back on.

I decided to add some chocolate chunks and pecans to this batch. Chocolate=always a good decision. Nuts=eeeh, not so sure I would do it again. The texture of the nuts was just too hard for the softness of the fluffy muffin! Oh-but here’s a baker’s trick: if you’re adding something like choco chips, toss them in a little flour so they don’t sink to the bottom.

All stirred up.

I split the mixture between 12 cupcakes and 3 mini loaf pans, so I could take the muffins to work and send the bread to kell-bell.

Before sliding them into a 375 degree oven, I grabbed cinnamon and sugar.

And sprinkled the muffins and loaves.

The muffins barely took 20 minutes (and I think that was too long! :(), and I just watched the bread until it looked like the middle was firming up a bit (maybe 25 minutes total?).

Ah, perfection.

I had to do a taste test to make sure they were good enough to send down to Charleston.

All packaged up with a little note.

Kelly is about to embark on her student teaching requirement for her MAT, and man can I tell you how lucky those little high schoolers are to have her!

6 thoughts on “Borrowed Banana Bread

  1. You are one of the sweetest friends I have. And I am defintely eating part of one of those delicious, delectable, delicate loaves as I read your blog. 🙂

    • I need to try yours then! You know how you mention that using bananas with spots is important for the sweetness of the batter? I did NOT do that this time and I could definitely tell a difference. So next time, I’ll go with spots. 🙂

      • I’ve made lots of batches with “not ripe enough” bananas and been sad that they didn’t have that sweet yumminess that is attainable through brown spotted ones. 🙂 Happy banana bread baking 🙂

Leave a Reply

