Summertime Eating

It has been hotter than Hades in Greenville as of the past two months, so I’ve been doing everything possible to stay cool and that includes making quick meals that don’t utilize the stove or oven for hours or longer than ten minutes.

I really like reading cookbooks lately, and while reading through one that West’s Grandmama gave me last Christmas, I stumbled upon one of these perfect, quick-heat meals. I just made a few substitutions for what I had on hand.

Summertime Orzo & Chicken from Taste of Home 2011

2 1/4 C of cooked Trader Joe’s 7 grain mix
1 sauteed skinless, boneless chicken breast, chopped
1/2 cucumber, chopped
1/2 small red onion, chopped
1 carrot, ribboned (I just made that up I think)
1/4 C fresh parsley, chopped
2 T lemon juice
1 T EVOO
1/2 t garlic gold nuggets
1 t salt
1/2 t pepper
1/4 C feta, crumbled

While the chicken & pasta are cooking (quickly!) on the stove, mix the last five ingredients to create the dressing. Then, drain the grains / pasta and mix with the remaining ingredients. Dress the bowl with the vinaigrette, toss and serve immediately or chill for later.

Refreshingly light!

This produced about four servings, and West said it is one of his favorite things I’ve made to date. So, husband approved!

Leave a Reply

