I Green Clean?

As a wedding gift, my friend Heather gave me many of the ingredients needed to make my own “green” cleaners along with recipes. We’ve been busy, and I haven’t really done any heavy duty cleaning since we’ve only been in our place for a month. But, I decided last Monday to finally put all this stuff together and get my clean on.

I will admit that I think the whole green movement is partly a fear-related marketing scheme. However, do you understand how cost effective it is to make your OWN cleaning products? What you see in that picture above equals a lifetime supply of Windex. I promise you.

I used the following recipes, and after cleaning with them, I can attest that they work quite well.

Tub Cleaner
Pour about 1/2 cup of baking soda into a bowl and add enough liquid detergent to make a texture like frosting. Scoop the mixture onto a sponge, and wash the surface. Easy peasy, right?

Window Cleaner
Put 1/2 t liquid detergent, 3 T vinegar, and 2 C water into a spray bottle, shake it up a bit, and spray away. (Notes from Heather: The soap in this recipe is important. It cuts the wax residue from the commercial brands you might have used in the past.)

All Purpose Cleaner
Combine 1/2 t washing soda, a dab of liquid soap and two cups of hot water in a spray bottle, shake and use. Pretty dang simple, huh?

There you have it. Now you can be green (or just cheap), too. I think Heather has just supplied me with all the ingredients I’ll ever need to clean our home for the rest of my life. (I love you, my hippy little child.)

2 thoughts on “I Green Clean?

  1. Love this!! I have a minor obsession with baking soda and vinegar. And I have a nice laundry detergent recipe. I’m sure nothing in my house is hospital-sanitary, but someone has to have the house where all the good little bacteria live, right?

Leave a Reply

