Homemade Granola

Whew. It’s been a busy week. I’ve been running around trying to find a second job, and then training for said second job so I can start teaching NEXT WEEK! No, don’t get too excited. I’m not teaching high school. Just taking on two classes at the local tech school, but I am actually pretty pumped and hoping that I love it. All that to say, this post has been ready for days; however, I’ve had no time to post it.

I love homemade granola, and if you buy your ingredients in bulk, I’m pretty sure it is more cost efficient to make it at home. So, last week, when West requested granola for breakfast, I pulled out my favorite recipe from Ellie Krieger.

I follow the recipe for the most part and use:

3 C old-fashioned oats
1/4 C sliced almonds
1/2 C chopped unsalted pecans
1/2 C “natural” maple syrup
1/4 t salt
1/4 t ground cinnamon
1/2 C craisins (West doesn’t like these, but I really recommend adding them.)

Gather your ingredients, spray your pan with some cooking spray, and preheat the oven to 300. While your oven gets hot, throw your measured oats into a bowl.

Chop your nuts that you chose not to buy pre-chopped because they were significantly more expensive.

Then, throw your nuts, cinnamon, salt, and dried cranberries in with the oats. I usually give it a stir to try to make sure things are evenly distributed.

Pour in that thick, sugary syrup.

Stir until well combined.

Spread evenly on your pan, place in the oven, and set a timer for 10 minutes.

After 10 minutes, remove pan, stir, place back in the oven, set timer for another 10 minutes, and repeat process once more for a total cooking time of 30 minutes.

Stirring the granola throughout the process is super important. If you omit or forget this step, it will burn (been there, done that, ate burnt granola for a week because I’m THAT cheap).

Anyway, supppper easy recipe for granola beginners. I’d love to hear what you guys add if you make granola at home. Any suggestions?

P.S. This is not super clumpy granola. Thus, it’s more meant for cereal purposes than snacking.

4 thoughts on “Homemade Granola

  1. I’ve made it using a mixed berry- the dried kind. It adds a little more variety and sweetness that you don’t get from the syrup (I don’t like too much syrup)> Also honey is really good mixed in with the syrup too. Yummy- Kelly will be wanting this again if he sees this post. better head to the grocery store. 🙂

    Btw- hope you class goes well. Teaching is challenging and you can and do encounter those students who aren’t grateful for your efforts- but it is so rewarding and when you run into that one student who “gets it” and soars it makes it all worth it.

    • Ooooo. I think I would put every type of dried berry in this granola if West would like it. He says the berries get too hard.

      And, thank you! I would appreciate your prayers next week (I’m actually missing the first day because I’m such a late hire, and they haven’t been able to confirm that I’m not a criminal yet:)).

  2. I can confirm you are a criminal…a bednapper! I hope you do get the job..and don’t grow weary in doing good. love you…Mrs. Jones

Leave a Reply

