Veggie Enchiladas with Roasted Salsa Verde

After Shannon and Daniel were so nice to have us over, we decided to return the favor and have them over for dinner + game night. Daniel is a vegetarian, so I knew I wouldn’t be cooking any meat (thank the Lord). Still, I couldn’t decide what to make. West, however, begged me to make veggie enchiladas, which has recently become a favorite in our small household, and I caved.

This recipe is incredibly basic / easy, but chopping the veggies and sauteing them separately to ensure equal cooking could drive some insane.

Veggie Enchiladas with Roasted Salsa Verde

Servings: 14 Enchiladas (our group of four ate approximately 10)

Taco seasoning
1/2 yellow onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
6 baby mushrooms, sliced
2 yellow squash, chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped
1 jalapeno, minced
1 cob of corn, kernels removed and blanched
1 potato, chopped and boiled until just soft
1 C shredded cheese
1 C World Table’s Roasted Salsa Verde
14 corn tortillas

The first thing to do is gather your ingredients.

Those not pictured were already in the pan! As you cook each batch, make sure to sprinkle it with taco seasoning and DO NOT overcook to mush. Keep ’em a little crisp.

The ideal way to cook the veggies would be on a flattop grill. Since we don’t have one of those, I cook them in batches, starting with the onions, garlic and mushrooms in a little oil. After that, I do the peppers, throwing the potatoes in toward the end so they get crispy. And finally, I throw in the squash with the corn. Every time I switch the veggies out, I put in a nearby bowl and mix.

I warm / brown my tortillas in a pan, misted with olive oil. The very first time I made these, I fried them. Way too much work! Also, the end product fell apart.

Fill each tortilla in a way that still allows you to fold the two sides into a neat roll.

Then, coat in World Table’s Roasted Salsa Verde. The last time I bought this, it was gone in two.days. It is seriously the best salsa ever. Go buy it now.

Sprinkle with cheese, cover with foil, and stick in the oven for 20 minutes on 350.

When you serve them, offer your guests the leftover salsa with a side of sour cream – the creaminess of the sour cream + the acidity of the salsa is pure heaven. I promise.

For dessert, Shannon brought cupcakes with lavender scented frosting (Is that right, Shannon?!). They were so delicious.

Daniel and Shannon also taught us how to play Munchkin!

There are many rules to remember your first time playing, but it was still fun.

Shannon beat us all.

She looks like she is scheming, doesn’t she? She was. She had like an obscene amount of levels. We were doomed.

I just realized that this is the recipe post I’ve done in FOREVER. Oh well. Maybe more to come soon? 🙂

One thought on “Veggie Enchiladas with Roasted Salsa Verde

  1. It was sooo good Faithie! Hah, that is a funny picture of me. I have never been instagrammed before. I have been wanting to make these enchilada’s myself, and now I have the recipe..thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

