Roasted Tomato & Basil Soup

The first day there was a slight chill in the air, I headed to the store to buy three pounds of roma tomatoes to make soup. I made it last year using this recipe, and it was delish. However, I did make a few changes, and I’ll tell you how that went as we go.

I stuck with the amount of called for tomatoes along with the oil and salt & pepper.

And I roasted them as directed. Before:

After:

Now, here is where I began to deviate from the path. I used 1 cup of packed basil instead of 4 because that junk is expensive. I would recommend using less than four as the flavor was still present but not overwhelming.

I stuck to the basic amounts of onion and garlic, though I might would add MORE garlic next time. (<– note to self.)

But when I started adding all the ingredients together, I decided to double the liquid. I used 1 1/2 quart of chicken stock and two cups of water. I did this because the very first time I ever tried to make this type of soup, the end result was closer to spaghetti sauce than soup. Oops.

After letting it simmer for awhile, I took the extra servings (around 10 total with the extra stock), and then stirred in a little milk (also an addition) to what West and I planned to eat.

We topped it with asiago croutons, and it was very mmmm. The first time. As we’ve been defrosting and consuming the leftovers, though, we both noticed the soup seems “watered down.” So, of the changes I made, I would NOT recommend adding extra stock / water.

I think tomato soup is doomed to be somewhat chunky. Sorry West. 😉

4 thoughts on “Roasted Tomato & Basil Soup

  1. Never in a hundred years, when you were growing up, would I have thought you would turn into “Suzie Homemaker”!! Love it AND you!

Leave a Reply

