Italian Shells and Cheese

When I was little, my mom made Italian shells and cheese quite often, and I loved them! But then, one night, my little sister got sick and threw up Italian shells and cheese on the carpet in the den. Gross. After that, I was scarred for life. Probably the wrong way to start a food on post (sorry!), but I recently decided to try to overcome this memory by making shells and cheese.

Back in the summer when we visited Amanda and went through some of West’s mom’s things, we found a copy of her recipe for Italian shells and cheese.

West says this is one of his favorite dishes his mom made, so I was so excited to try it out despite my bad memories (one thing that works in its favor is that it is meat-free!!)

Italian Shells and Cheese

8 oz jumbo pasta shells (we used ab 20?)
8 oz cream cheese
1 C cottage cheese
1 C mozzarella, shredded
1 egg, beaten
1/4 C Parmesan and Romano cheese
2 T parsley, chopped
2 t dried basil
1/2 t oregano
1/2 t thyme
14 oz stewed tomatoes
8 oz tomato paste
1/2 C white wine
1 t oregano
1 t thyme
1 clove garlic, minced

I started by boiling the water and throwing in my jumbo shells.

While the shells cooked, I mixed the next 9 ingredients together to create the filling. I was ready to eat it then – so much cheese!

Then we stuffed those jumbo shells until they were happy little babies, covered them with foil, and stuck them in the oven at 350 for 25 minutes.

While the shells were in the oven, I simmered the remaining ingredients on the stove for 25 minutes to make the sauce.

What was the outcome of this easy little meal?

The most delicious dish of Italian shells ever. I’m completely over my phobia.

We totally ate more of this than we should have. I think I ate 5 and West at 7 or 8 (news flash! this should feed 6 people, it [barely] fed us twice!).

I just told West I was finally writing this post, and he asked me to make it again right now, ha-ha.

This one is a keeper.

8 thoughts on “Italian Shells and Cheese

  1. LOL. I can’t weigh in as I’d evidently blocked said memory from my mind, so thanks for re-introducing it to me. Glad you were able to overcome your phobia though πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

